Not Just Another Blogger

I feel as though I should have started a blog a long time ago. Actually, I have. Since I was twelve, I have probably had about ten different blogs started at ten different times. But it was always the same; months would go by between a single post, and before I knew it, I couldn’t even remember the password and I would have to start all over. But I think this time is different. If you read the “About Me” section of my newest blog, you would know that I am not just another college girl wanting to tell the world about my college-aged drama (yes, it exists). I am a college girl who is passionate and a learner. I am a daughter of the Most High King. I am loved and redeemed. I am also a CFer. Unless you know me personally or you ask what’s wrong with me after I have just had a coughing fit, you wouldn’t know that I have a life-threatening lung disease. I don’t look sick (Unless we go back to my middle school/high school days when I was always asked if I was anorexic because of how tiny I was). But, I am chronically sick. No, it’s not contagious. Yes, you can still sit next to me in class even when I’m coughing my head off. (And yes, my peers have asked me that). I am just like YOU, but I have special needs. Sometimes I need to eat during class in order to get the recommended amount of calories I need daily. Sometimes I will need to just lay my head down for five seconds because I am physically exhausted. Sometimes I won’t make it to class. And last but not least, I cough. A lot.

Several people ask me what they can do for me when they find out I have CF, and I always just say “nothing”. But that’s not true. Smile at me, pray for me, treat me like everyone else. Laugh at my “smoker laugh”-because I do. Joke with me about how much I eat! SERIOUSLY! (I really should be about 800 pounds judging from what I eat every day, just ask my closest friends. Eating is my life) I love life, and I want to enjoy it! Please do not treat me differently.

Sorry for going off on a rabbit trail… I tend to lost my train of thought easily and I automatically jump into something else. Anyway, I’m actually really excited about starting this blog. I want to share my joys and pains with you. I want to tell you what Christ has done for me and how He has completely transformed my heart! My purpose is to draw you closer to Christ by telling you my testimony. His grace, His love, His sacrifice-it is sufficient. No matter what I go through on a daily basis because of my disease, God always teaches me something. I want to share those lessons with you. Ultimately, I want you to know Him and His love for you. Please join me as we start on this joyous journey together!

4 thoughts on “Not Just Another Blogger

  1. Jordan, I have been so blessed just to have the privilege of being your Granny. I have watched you stand strong in rough times, I know that God is teaching you as you teach others about our Maker. I walk each day one step @ a time. I know you do too. God is so mighty and He has a plan to be carried out by each of His children. I pray God unveils His plan to you as you rise each morning. I pray His name is the first word you utter in the morning and the last name you utter at night. God never leaves you. He always has you by your right hand. You are loved by God and by Granny! God bless you and keep you.

  2. Jordan, I enjoyed your blog–you are a good writer. You are so right that you never know when God will use your story to encourage others–you encouraged me today. I’m Laura, your Grandmother, Lois’s neice. Keep Calm and Blog On! Blessings.

    • Laura, thank you so much for your encouraging words!! I am so happy that my post encouraged you. I love to see God working!! Please let me know if there is anything that I can pray about for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

