Seasons Change

Living in Texas, we really don’t see a lot of snow. But lately it has been in the low 20’s and 30’s and I knew it was inevitable. I woke up to the feeling of Christmas in the air and our lawn covered in the purest color of white. I opened my instagram app to find only pictures of my friends playing in the snow and happily exclaiming their excitement for the first snow day of the semester. What were my thoughts, you might ask?

“Why can’t I be in Florida?!”

Yes, I am one of those individuals that despises cold weather and anything to do with it! That means rain, gloomy days, grey clouds, WIND, and even snow. On days that have forecasted anything below 75 degrees F, you can find me in my room huddled under a blanket, wearing a jacket, next to my trusty heater (literally like 6 inches from it), with a good book and a hot cup of tea. You will also find me wishing that I was in Florida next to a pool with my sunglasses on and a nice ice cold glass of sweet tea. Even as I sit here writing this post, I am accompanied by my heater, a chai latte, and a cute pair of socks on my  warm little toesies.

Now don’t get me wrong, I can enjoy cold weather every once in a while. I delight in the joy of opening up a new book and sitting by the fire (or my heater) and just relaxing (this is a rare thing). I also like to play Christmas music and imagine that I am currently not still in school and that it is winter break. But if you’re making me actually get out in the nasty weather, I will make up every excuse to stay home.

Fortunately for me, my health is a priority in my life (at least I try to make it one…sometimes) and it’s a great reason to sit at home in the warmth. If you know anything about cold weather seasons, you would know that it’s the prime time of the year for sickness. Unfortunately for me, I have a weakened immune system and I can easily catch whatever happens to be lurking anywhere near me. Just last week, I went to see my new primary care doctor to establish a doctor-patient relationship. It just happened that I had been feeling a little under the weather and needed an expert opinion on what was going on in my body. Being a twenty year old with CF, I already had a pretty good idea. I had nasal congestion and my cough had been more consistent; not to mention the dark green mucus (yes I am going to be really real with you) that had been coming up after my breathing treatments and every time I had to cough uncontrollably. The words “bacterial infection” and “pulmonary flare” aren’t anything new to me. So when my new doctor prescribed Bactrim and Cipro, I nodded my head and prayed to God that his next words wouldn’t be “CF tune-up” and “hospitalization”. I managed to sneak out without the conversation ever coming to that point, and praise God that I am feeling ten times better!

But still, the coughing isn’t letting up. I still have trouble sleeping at night (like I do most nights) and trouble actually staying asleep. I went to church today and coughed during the entire sermon. Since singing is a gift that The Lord has blessed me with, and one that I really enjoy, it’s hard on me when I can barely get through a verse without having to cough. So yes, I think it’s fair to say I despise cold weather. I’d rather be at the beach with the salt water hanging in the air, allowing my lungs to open up and have the opportunity to breathe normally-if only for a few minutes.

But through all of my ill-feelings towards cold weather and coughing, God continues to show me beauty in these things. He created cold weather! Something that I haven’t mentioned until now, is that I am trying to appreciate each season of weather. Just like the different weather seasons, there are different seasons of life. Just like winter is a hard season for me physically, I am currently in a hard season of life emotionally. God reminds me that the seasons of life change similarly to the seasons of weather. I have also learned that I should not waste the season of life that I am in now just because I want the next one to come.

For those of you who don’t know me, my life has never been more hectic. I’m in my junior year of college as an undergraduate studying Nutritional Sciences (it’s a LOT harder than you think!), I’m the public relations coordinator for the Student Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, I’m a diet technician at Covenant Health Systems, and I’m pledging Raider Sisters for Christ (RSC). Not to mention the fact that I have a life that includes friends and family. Two things that I did not mention that are important to me is my health and my relationship with Jesus. Sadly, those two things have been on the backburner of my life this entire semester. Breathing treatments happen when I have the two hours to spare (which is pretty much never except for recently), and the same goes for my quiet time. I am learning discipline the hard way. Grades have fallen, health has tumbled down the hill, and my relationship with God is stagnant. Being a perfectionist that wants to please everyone, including myself, this has been the hardest semester of my life. BUT, there are so many things that God has taught me that I want to put in this post, but it would literally be like writing a book. So just know that I am learning 🙂

I am so blessed to be able to say that God is teaching me. He has put so many people in my life to help keep me accountable, especially my sisters in Christ. I don’t know how I went from talking about snow and coughing to talking about this semester and my relationship with God, but hey, this is me. Take it or leave it.

“Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.] -John 14:27

2 thoughts on “Seasons Change

  1. It sounds cliche, but you’re wise beyond your years. I think it’s a combination of your CF, your walk with God, and your gift of insight. I LOVE that you keep it real, both good and bad. Your positive attitude is so great, and you provide great perspective for those around you. You definitely have a busy schedule! There’s no doubt that God is using you for way more than just your link with CF. You have the gift of affecting those around you in such a great way that many others don’t. You are in my daily prayers, not just because of your CF but also because I see the journey that God has for you. I can’t tell you anymore than you can what He has in store, but He definitely has His hand upon you. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. You make our family look good! Lots of love and continued prayers for you.

  2. Trevor, thank you so much!! You have no idea how much your encouraging words mean to me. I literally have the best support system, and I am so grateful that you are a part of it. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

