MRSA….What?

Today was my fourth day in a row to be in Starbucks for approximately eight hours studying for my finals. I am getting used to coming home and smelling like coffee (I hate coffee). I am literally grossing myself out.

But anyway, during my fourth trip today, I had opened my book to read about Protein Synthesis (#biochemprobs) when I came across a story about MRSA: The Superbug. For those of you who do not know what MRSA is, MRSA stands for methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus- a strain of the Gram-positive bacterium Staph. aureus that is resistant to a certain class of antibiotics. So in other words, you can take all the antibiotics you want, MRSA is here to say, “You can’t get rid of me!” Here’s another fun fact for you: MRSA is growing in my lungs. Yup. This very second, I have a little colony of these “superbugs” that are living inside of me. This is what makes CF so life-threatening. Bacteria, like Staph, are what keeps CFers from living a full life.

Back to the story in my biochem book- I kept reading and it was about a young high school boy who got MRSA from an infected wound that he had received while playing football. But it turns out, one of his good friends also got MRSA and died just two weeks later from it. Woah. Immediately my flood gates started to open. Right in the middle of a not-so-busy Starbucks. This kid died within 2 weeks of having MRSA and I’ve had it for 7 years and I’m still here?!

“Hi,” says God.

I’m immediately thankful as I am able to see that God really is working in my life. Yes, I am growing a bacterium in my lungs that isn’t affected by the antibiotics I take or by the breathing treatments I do, but does God care?? Nope. To put a spin on a previous post: What doctors say my limits are, are not what God says my limits are. Who do you think I trust in more??

Leave a Reply

