Rain vs. Sunshine

Last night I couldn’t fall asleep because I could hardly breathe. This morning I woke up with pink eye for about the thirtieth time in this past year. And tonight, I am suffering from stomach cramps that happened to come out of nowhere. Just today, my final grades for the Fall semester of my junior at Tech were posted, and yikes. I was NOT too happy! This semester has been so hard. But as I have said each time that the subject of my difficult semester comes up, God has taught me/is teaching me so much. 

Sometimes, actually, most times, it is so easy for us to focus on the rain in our lives, rather than the sunshine. Think about it, when you live in dry west Texas where it hardly ever rains, which do you notice more-the rain or the sunshine? It’s the same when it comes to our own lives. We are so quick to grumble and complain, but when it comes to thanking God for the many (not to mention ENDLESS) blessings that He gladly bestows upon us daily, we barely say a word. It seems as though this week has held a lot of “downs” for me, but when I think about it, there has definitely been a lot of “ups” as well.

Sunday, I had the wonderful opportunity to be baptized for the second time in my life. You may think that’s a little strange. After all, most people only get baptized once, right? For me, I felt that The Lord was placing it on my heart. Over the past year and a half, God has transformed my heart in a way that I never knew was even possible. I’m a completely different person. I felt that, because of this, the world needed to know what God is capable of doing. He did it for me, why can’t He do it for other people? I was amazed at how many people showed up to my baptism. My friends, RSC sisters, and my family showed up to support me on a day that was truly special to me. God showed me how many people really love me. That was a blessing in and of itself. 

Another blessing that same day, was that a thirteen-year-old girl named Micaela House, was baptized directly after me. We were instant friends. I immediately felt a strong connection between the two of us, so I got her number. We talked later that same day, and I invited myself to  go to her basketball game the next day. 

Monday, I got to go to Micaela’s basketball game that was held at the very same middle school that I went to. I ended up having the pleasure of meeting her (very sweet) parents and seeing a few old friends. Micaela’s dad told me that all Micalea had talked about since the day before was me. I knew I was meant to be someone special in her life. Later that night, I also had the privelage of relaxing with one of my best friends since 6th grade. I had more fun with her than I had had in a long time!

Tuesday evening, I went and picked up Micaela to hang out. We ended up going to the mall and talking about boys and the boyfriend that had broken up with her the day before. We tried on clothes, drank a latte, and browsed the Eric and Leslie Ludy section (my favorite couple of authors) of Barnes and Noble. We spent the night getting to know each other, and by the end of it, I had asked if she would like me to be her mentor/big sister (she has an older brother in the marines, so she’s basically an only child). I have never seen anyone so giddy. It literally made my heart so happy! I am really looking forward to getting to know her better and being a godly influence in her life. 

Wednesday, I got to go back to work at Yamagata. That may not sound like a blessing to you, but believe me, it is!! I have really missed my Yamagata family; and as an added blessing, I got to work the night shift with one of my best friends. It made for a fun night filled with a lot of laughter and even a few tips. 

As for today, I worked at Covenant (Women’s and Children’s) for a couple of hours. For those of you who don’t know, I am blessed to be a diet technician that gets to work with patients, as well as dietitians, to gain experience for my internship and my future career. Today I saw three patients, all pregnant women (one was my age-yikes), all with the same chief complaint: hyperemesis gravidarum-a severe case of nausea and vomiting related to pregnancy. This makes a pregnant women nutritionally at risk because it causes her to lose weight (each of my patients had lost approximately ten pounds in the last two weeks), which is very unhealthy for her and her unborn child. I have found it very satisfying to be able to understand a medical diagnosis and to know what to do nutritionally-all thanks to my classes! I have actually been struggling with enjoying my job, but God has answered my prayers and I am learning to see the joy in what I do. I was also blessed to be able to relax at home directly after I got off work. 

So you see, sunshine exists, but so does rain. But rain only lasts a little while, and in West Texas it is rare. The sun always comes back out from behind those gray clouds. So when I’m sick and I don’t feel good, or I’m going through a difficult circumstance, I am trying to remember that something good will always prevail. The “ups” will always outweigh the “downs. Praise The Lord!

Leave a Reply

