Labels.

Labels.

We all have them. We all use them. Here’s some of the labels that I have put on myself:

I am angry.

I am frustrated.

I am just like my mother.

I am a people pleaser.

I am insecure.

I am a wreck.

I am unglued.

Notice the labels I just used for myself. They didn’t sound like the best labels (except for the “just like my mother” one, of course!). We use all kinds of labels on a daily basis that we think define ourselves. The reality is, some of them do and some of them don’t.

Over the years, many labels have “defined” me. Dealing with Cystic Fibrosis on a daily basis, sometimes I let my trials define me. I have labeled myself as sick and helpless. I have let others see me as this as well. But eventually I learned that God doesn’t see me as such. God sees me as loved, beloved, worthy, precious, and HIS-among many others. I have learned, despite my chronic disease, that CF does NOT define me or who I am. When I people ask me who I am, I don’t tell them that I have CF, or even that I have a disease. I tell them that I’m a daughter of the Most High King, I’m a singer, I’m a writer, I’m a lover, I’m a fighter, I’m a sister and a daughter, I’m a friend, and I’m fearless (at least I like to think so).

I’m writing this post because it has come to my attention that many people let the trials and tribulations that come their way, define them. They don’t allow the positive things in their lives to overcome the negative things. Sure, I may be insecure and frustrated and angry and just like my mother sometimes, but I’m not that way all of the time. I’m happy and joyful and peaceful and quiet and just like my mother (my role model)! So no matter what comes your way-whether you have a disease or you think you’re a bad friend or maybe you’re not the most joyful person in the world or whatever label you have put on yourself-don’t let those things define you. God sees so much more than that in you, and you should too. Labels only stick if you let them.

One thought on “Labels.

Leave a Reply

